Saturday, April 20, 2024
Google search engine
HomeNewsNzekwe Emerges President Of Former Imo Lawmakers' Body

Nzekwe Emerges President Of Former Imo Lawmakers’ Body


Over the weekend, Ugochukwu Nzekwe was elected President of the Former Members of the Imo State House of Assembly (FOMIHA). Nzekwe, who had served as the Nkwerre Constituency’s representative for two terms, defeated Inno Onwuemenyi, who received twenty votes, with 47 votes in what was deemed to be a free, fair, and credible election that took place in Imo State. Ike C. Ibe, who has served as the Obowo Constituency representative, would be replaced by him.


67 voters took part in the election, according to G.A.S. Amadi, the chairman of the electoral committee and former representative of the Owerri West Constituency. Returning officer Amadi called the event “a keenly contested election,” revealing that 41 members were present in person and 26 votes came from members living abroad.

Related News

Journalists to partner security chiefs to end spread of wrong information in Imo

IPOB Denies Being Involved In Imo Camp Attack

Imo State Cabinet: Imo Assembly Confirms Emelumba, Nwosu, 10 Others

Ifeanyi Agwu received 50 votes in the vice presidential contest, defeating Innocent Eke’s 17 votes. Gozie Nwachukwu defeated Dr. Uche Oguike, who received 29 votes, to win the position of Secretary with 38 votes. Nzekwe has decades of political experience, according to information acquired by The Guardian.


In addition to being his Special Adviser on Public Safety, Governor Hope Uzodimma appointed him to the Imo State Expanded Executive Council.


As a member of the limited All Peoples Party (APP), he had defeated Ogu Onyeama, the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) incumbent Deputy Speaker of the House, in the 2003 constituency election.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments